Review: Sephora Contour Eye Pencil 12hr Waterproof

Hello, hello! Time to save money and stay beautiful! So come on and let’s get started!

SDC12260

This weekend I was having a romantic tiny trip with my boyfriend in Savannah, Georgia. And like a (healthy) shopaholic like me, I said that I wanted to go to the Shopping Mall. While I was walking and just having a good time, I saw the Sephora inside JCPenny. I had to go check the makeup products! It’s stronger than me, what can I do? Ok, walking around the pot of gold of makeup, I decided to check the Sephora Collection to see if they have something good and for a reasonable price. I saw the Sephora Contour Eye Pencil 12h Waterproof and decided to swatch a few colors on my hands. I didn’t want to buy the black because well, I have tons of black eyeliner so why buy another black? I had to decide between their several colors (35 total, on the website), and I picked two shades. But first, let’s see what Sephora tells us about their product:

What it is:
A contouring eye pencil for a big, beautiful look that lasts up to 12 hours.

What it does:
Enhance and enliven your eyes with the bold, long-wearing color of these eye pencils. The silky formula is resistant to water, heat, and humidity, ensuring up to 12 hours of smudge-less wear.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

Nothing special, but direct to the point. Which I like better than going around paragraphs just to read something they could have said in a few sentences. Right? Anyway, back to the colors I chose!

SDC12261Cappuccino and Sun Tan! 🙂

SDC12266

SDC12269

COLOR 08 Sun Tan – Copper. It’s a beautiful copper/bronze/gold color, with shimmer. I fell in love when I swatched it. I think it looks so beautiful, especially if you apply on top of a dar smokey eye! Can’t wait to try it!

SDC12276

COLOR 12 Cappuccino – Brown Glitter. Like the name says itself, it is a brown color with glitter in it. Which is different from the Sun Tan that is a shimmer color. I’m not sure if you guys can tell the difference from shimmer to glitter, so let’s see both colors together:

SDC12274

Inside lights

SDC12272

Sun light. I like to say that shimmer is like a giant glitter like, it has its glow, while glitter feels like there is flakes of glitter on top of a color. Confusing but I think with the picture you can tell the difference. The dark is glitter, while the golden eyeliner is a shimmer color. 🙂

Ok, I had chosen my favorite colors from the ones I had swatched it. It was time to pay. US$9,00 each one, I thought it was a good deal! The Sephora saleswoman gave me a reward card, but I don’t know if I have any points with this purchase. So, I bought it, went to have lunch (still at the shopping mall) and I decided to check the receipt from Sephora, because I always do that.  I saw that she charged me US$10,00 instead of the US$9,00 that was written on the display. Oh no, no, no! I had to go back! 2 dollars to me are like… Well, 2 dollars! I went back to Sephora and told the woman that she charged the wrong price. Then she looked at me and told me that all Sephora products (or eye pencils, I forgot) went up 1 dollar. I stared at her smiling, secretly thinking ‘Well, it’s not my fault, the price on the display says 9 dollars’. Then she talked with the manager and she gave me back my US$2,14! Score! What if I said ‘pff, nah, whatever’? I wouldn’t get back the money! 😉

Back to the eyeliner, they cost US$10,00 now, but I paid US$9,00 because of what I just wrote up there. They are smooth, easy to apply, don’t seem to smudge easily, but one thing: even though it is for the outside part of the eye, I tried to apply on my waterline.. FAIL. My eyes started to burn and water a little bit, my eyes got blurry because the formula is too greasy. Anyway, no wonder why they say it’s CONTOUR eye pencil. Do not try to apply on the waterline of your eyes! haha.

I think they are worth the price. Not too expensive and good quality. What do you think?

I’ll talk to you guys soon, bye!

Leave a Reply

